Read This During Class

April 21, 2008

Blog: I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell (The Movie)

Filed under: Uncategorized — readthisduringclass @ 4:32 am
Tags: ,

tucker I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell

You have probably heard of Tucker Max in some capacity. He is an internet legend and a New York Times Best Selling author.

You’ve probably read some of his stories about getting wasted, having sex, and everything else having to do with drunken-shenanigans. These stories used to get passed around the internet like wildfire.

I had never heard of him through the internet. One day, about two years ago, I was walking around a Barnes and Noble and I saw his book, I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell, sitting on the Best Sellers table. The cover caught my eye and I started reading. Not five minutes later, I was keeled over laughing with tears in my eyes in the middle of the bookstore. No joke. People were staring at me. Of course, I immediately bought the book and became a fan.

He has more stories on his website, and he has a second book coming out in the fall. Most people know all of this already so that’s not really what the post is about (but if you haven’t read anything by him, you NEED to).

Recently, he has undertaken the project of making a movie based on some of the stories in his book. He wrote the script with a friend, and is overseeing all major decisions in the movie making process rather than shipping it off to a big studio to deal with. The blog I’ve linked to above is his play-by-play account of making an independent film, from day one all the way to opening night. If you have ever been curious about how casting works, how the writers and producers and directors come together, and all the other nuances of film-making that no one ever talks about, this is the blog for you. Very interesting stuff, and it can be funny at times because, well, it’s Tucker Max. Check it out!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

